Minutes of the General Assembly for the European Society of Arachnology held at Turin, Italy, 29th August 2014.

President's report

The president, Ferenc Samu, reflected on the aims and objectives of the European Society for Arachnology and how the Society has fulfilled and continues to fulfil these objectives. The Society continues to support the annual congress and the 'Spiders of Europe' website (€1000 in 2014), and regards supporting students and European Arachnological Society projects as aims of particular importance.

Ferenc offered thanks to the council for their efforts over the last year. Membership numbers continue to be healthy (90 paying members in 2014 with 17 honorary members). There are new methods for paying membership fees (e.g. through PayPal). Membership will be discontinued where fees are not paid for three consecutive years.

News about the Society continues to be disseminated through its website and through a newsletter. 'Arachnologische Mitteilungen' continues to be the vehicle for conference proceedings.

The president's report was acknowledged with a round of applause.

Treasurer's report

The report was presented to the council by Christian Kropf. As of 31/7/2014 the balance stands at 5914.92 Swiss francs.

Auditor's report

The treasurer's report was accepted by Peter Horak on behalf of the auditors.

President's announcements

The president announced that discussions regarding the host for next conference venue are underway but no final decisions have been made as yet.

A period of quiet reflection was observed to remember deceased members of the Society Joachim Haupt, Jean-Claude Ledoux, Herman Dekoninck, Albeius Kessler and Asta Vilbaste.

Honorary members

Election was made of three new honorary members of the Society. The three members, Roland Stockmann, Jörg Wunderlich and Torbjörn Kronestedt all accepted with thanks.

Council elections

Elections were held for those members whose terms of office had expired. 56 valid votes were obtained.

Maria Chatzaki 53
Holger Frick 42
Efrat Gavish-Regev 41
Ferenc Samu 34
Miquel Arnedo 29
Barbara Knoflach-Thaler 28
Peter Michalik 20

The council for the coming year thus comprises:

Wolfgang Nentwig - President

Jason Dunlop - vice President

Christian Kropf – Treasurer

Ferenc Samu – vice Treasurer

Theo Blick - Proceedings and Taxonomic News

Maria Chatzaki – Secretary

Efrat Gavish-Regev – Membership Secretary

Holger Frick - webmaster (incoming)

Samuel Zschokke – webmaster (outgoing)

Marco Isaia - Newsletter

Sara Goodacre - Newsletter

The next Congress Organizer will be included as a member of the council once the venue has been decided. [post-meeting note – Stano Pekár has agreed to organize the next congress and is now added to the council]

Closing ceremony

A vote of thanks was given to Marco Isaia and the other members of the Torino conference organising team for making the meeting such a success.

Thanks were offered to Ferenc Samu for all his efforts during the last 9 years as President of the European Arachnological Society. It was proposed that Wolfgang Nentwig be the next president. This was accepted unanimously.